Chinese New Years in NYC


I have a friend from Austria who is planning to visit NYC in 2011, and she asked me for advice of when would be a good time to go. She’s already been to NYC but it will be the first time she will be visiting with her husband who has not traveled outside of Europe. I will advise them they should visit during the first week of February when the Chinese community of NYC celebrate the Year of the Rabbit. As part of the celebration, I’d invite them for dim sum and to watch the parade of dancing dragons and lions with confetti falling around. The parade isn’t just a celebration of the New Year, but also the Chinese community in America.

Chinese New Year is held in a special place in my heart, partly because it is my heritage but mainly, it reminds me of my childhood. I remember going into Chinatown with my parents and brother to watch the festivities. I was fascinated with the colorful lions as they danced and jumped to the beat of the drums and cymbals; their eyelashes batting playfully, and their mouths flapping open with happiness. At that age, the dancing lions were mythical creatures that brought fortune and happiness, and not just two men in elaborate costumes moving in sync with each other.

I think my Austrian friends would enjoy this as they will get a taste of Chinese culture while they visit one of the greatest cities in the world.

**This post has been entered into the Grantourismo and HomeAway Holiday-Rentals travel blogging competition.**

4 responses to “Chinese New Years in NYC

  1. Wish we could be there for Chinese New Year too! I always loved Chinese New Year in Sydney – so vibrant! Thanks so much for this entry! (And so nice to meet you in NYC recently). Good luck, Jeannie.

  2. I’ve never been to the Chinese New Year celebration here. It looks like so much fun! The composition of this photo is really interesting and those puppets are adorable :)

  3. You’ve got to go in 2011. It is fun if you’ve never been. I’ve always wanted the full size version of the lion costume, which you can apparently buy at Pearl River on Broadway but I guess when I have room to display it, I’ll have to settle for the puppets. They are cute!

Leave a Reply

