Autumn


Autumn is my favorite season! I love when the colors of the leaves change from it’s greenness to golden yellows, deep oranges, and rich reds. Its also a time for a great harvest of fruits and veggies like apples, pumpkin, sweet potatoes, hot peppers, etc. I think the best dishes and meals are created in autumn like creamy pumpkin pie, or warming beef stews, and let us not forget about hot cocoa! The autumn air has a freshness that suggests it’s time to layer up. I love fall fashion; dressing up in sweaters, cardigans, jackets, scarves, and boots.

photo by Nossirom

The fall is also a great time to travel, in my opinion. In the past, I have opted to travel during autumn or spring, and stay around NYC during the summer. I personally think there are less tourists around when traveling before or after summer. Granted, I end up packing more when traveling during cooler seasons but I’m okay with that. I actually prefer it.

Autumn is also a time of year when I celebrate becoming one year older, which is one of the main reasons why I love autumn! A few years ago, I decided to do something to commemorate my birthday and not just have another dinner at some restaurant of my choosing. I wanted it to be memorable. Two years ago, we spent my birthday with some great entertainment. It was a rainy day, and a bit humid. I wore a pretty dress for the day’s events. It had a large floral print in a warm grey color, sleeveless, strapless, with a brown sash belt. We went to see Gerard Butler in Law Abiding Citizen in the afternoon and then in the evening, we went to see Daniel Craig and Hugh Jackman in a play called “A Steady Rain”. Dinner was at Blue Ribbon in Greenwich Village.

20110814-021620.jpg

cake from last year

Last year, we rented bicycles and biked around Central Park. It was a wonderful day for a bike ride though it was again unseasonably warm for that time of year. We had dinner at a Scottish gastropub called Highlands in the Greenwich Village neighborhood. I had pork belly.

Today I am one year older, and I am in Glasgow! 2011 is a milestone birthday, so I planned a trip to Scotland to commemorate it. I have no plans for celebrating other than treating myself to great food and delightful sweets. Maybe shop for a gift? Whatever happens today, I will surely remember it always, and fondly!

Stay tuned for updates….

Leave a Reply

