In Vancouver


After arriving at Vancouver Airport, I grabbed a taxi to take me to my friend’s apartment. She lives in Yaletown.  Nicole met me in front of the building and showed me where I was staying.  Nicole has an apartment next door to her dad’s but he is hardly there so the apartment is used for guests who are visiting.  I had the apartment all to myself and it is a really nice apartment too! We went for lunch at a local restaurant, at a restaurant called Browns Social House. We ate there the first time I visited Vancouver. I remember the sweet potato fries were really good. The interior is warm and cozy and spacious.  We were seated at one of their large booths. The menu is fusion with influences that are Italian, Southern, and Asian. We each ordered individual pizza margarita and pale ale. The pizza was as big as our faces.  It was a perfect lunch; not too filling but fed the hunger. The prices are average.

Afterwards, Nicole returned to work and I returned to the apartment to wash up before heading out again to explore Vancouver. I had some minor errands to also run like change currency and gets some stamps. I always prefer to change my currency at banks.  They don’t charge fees and their rates are usually better than those currency change tellers.

At the airport in Vancouver, I needed to change  some money in order to take the taxi.  There was a currency exchange kiosk in the arrivals area.  The current rate of exchange from US dollar to Canadian dollar was 1.221415.  I changed $100 US to get $118.60; and they took $3.50 as their fee. Later that same day, I went into Vancouver Bullion & Currency Exchange to change more US dollars and Euros.  The rate was 1.266.  I changed $168 US and got $212.69 Canadian; and no fee!

The rate for Euros to Canadian dollars was 1.62.

The weather was bright and sunny.  The temperature was in the 40’s; not warm but not cold.  It was similar to temperatures in NYC but not as brisk.  I enjoyed the cool air of Vancouver.  I walked to all my destinations. I walked Westend to Chinatown and and back towards Robson Street to check out the shopping district.  Robson was bustling with people and cars.  There were all sorts of retail stores and boutiques that ranged from the high end (ie. Ferragamo) to souvenir shops that sold everything Canadian.

p1060148

click image to view slideshow.

I returned to the apartment around 5pm so I could get some rest before dinner.  Nicole made reservations at a restaurant called Lucy Mae Brown.  You can read my review on the restaurant here.

The next day, Friday March 13, 2009, I woke up earlier than my alarm clock.  I wanted to go to Granville Island and get what I’ve been longing for, an almond croissant from this awesome bakery called La Baguette & L’Echalote Bakery. I took the Aquabus from Yaletown to False Creek on Granville Island.  The cost for a round trip ticket was $7 CAD. The  day was bright and sunny and warm!  It was 43 degree F. La Baguette is near the Public Market (another awesome place to check out) on the north end of the island.  You can’t miss it.  It stands alone and it has a little square with benches out front.  we headed up to Pemberton and Whistler.  We made a few stops along the way.  I picked up a pair of shades at the Running Room. I got a pair of nice Adrenaline-Essential Sprint Ryder sunglasses for $39.99 CAD. A colleague highly recommended that I get sunglasses for the snow filled fun.  Besides, I need to get one also for when I jog. 

click image to view slideshow.

click image to view slideshow.

The drive to Whistler from Vancouver is about 3 hours with minimal traffic and another 20 minutes to Pemberton. The last time I was in Vancouver and we drove up to Whistler, they were working on the roads in preparation for the 2010 Olympics.

Aquabus
 Suite 230-1333 Johnston Street,
Vancouver, British Columbia
Canada, V6H 3R9 
(604) 689.5858 

Browns Social House
Yaletown, Vancouver
1165 Mainland Street, Vancouver
(604) 696-9335 

La Baguette & L’Echalote Bakery
Granville Island
1680 Johnston Street,
Vancouver, BC
Canada. V6H 3S2
(604) 684-1351 

Running Room
Suite 103, 679 Denman Street
Vancouver, BC V6G 2L3 
(604) 684-9771

Vancouver Bullion & Currency Exchange
Ste 120-800 West Pender Street,
Vancouver, British Columbia
Canada V6C 2V6
604.685.7923

Leave a Reply

