Dogsledding in the Soo Valley


Saturday was the big day – dogsledding!  This was the day I’ve been waiting for ever since I booked my flight to Vancouver.  I was so excited to do this.  Nicole booked the dogsledding with Outdoor Adventures. Per my request, Nicole booked the Soo Valley Quest, which is 3 hours long.  It included transport to the Soo Valley, instructions on how to operate the sled and work with the dogs, as well as bond with them.  Nicole mushed first as you can see from the picture.  I took lots of pictures as the passenger as well as a great video.  One thing I must say is that when you’re in the passenger seat, you have to put up with the views of the dogs pooping and the smells associated with it.

img_1455-resized

click the image to see more pics!

I finally got my chance to be at the helm at the half way mark, and let me tell you that it was such a thrilling and awesome experience that I can’t wait to return for more.  There aren’t words that can describe the exhilaration of the cold fresh alpine air, and the sheer thrill of  just grabbing a hold of the sled while the dogs took off at a moments notice.  Although the dogs did most of the work, they didn’t do all the work.  As the driver of the sled, I (and Nicole) were expected to help especially when going uphill.  The dogs do look back at you and if they see you are not working with them, they will stop.  

I must admit that I had a little tumble.  While trying to push the sled along with the dogs pulling, I lost my ground and fell. It’s a bit getting used to; the momentum and catching up with the team. Luckily, I was still holding onto the sled and was dragged a bit.  I wasn’t hurt and fortunately, there were no poop along the way as I was being dragged.  The dogs were smart enough to know to stop, or at least to slow down a bit, and I quickly regained my position.

That was so much fun even when I was being dragged for a bit… It’s all part of the outdoor adventure!

check out this video

check out this video

If you have facebook, you can see a better quality of the video posted by my friend, Nicole – click here.

Outdoor Adventures in Whistler
Unit No. 218 – 4293 Mountain Square
Whistler, BC
V0N-1B4

2 responses to “Dogsledding in the Soo Valley

  1. LOL, I’m sorry, but I had to laugh reading your explanation of the little tumble. I just looked back and there you were – at eye level! Thank you for holding on, at the risk of being dragged thru poop. I am glad I didn’t have to deal with a runaway sled experience!

Leave a Reply

