Saying goodbye to 2009 in Portland, Maine


So after some initial disappointment, and deliberation, I’ve agreed to celebrate the New Year in Portland, Maine instead of London or Scotland. I was offered Portland, ME or Boston, MA as destinations. I’ve already been to Boston, and I have heard Portland is a must go to destination. I won’t go into the details of why I’m not going to London or Scotland. The most important thing is that I will be with TH for the New Year’s Eve celebration and weekend.

In doing my research on cheap flights to Portland, ME; I found that I saved more money by booking the flight and hotel separately and not thru Expedia.com as a package. Some of the hotels offered specials if you booked ahead and prepaid; the down side to this was there are no refunds. I also booked my flight directly with Delta, which was not any less expensive than Expedia.com if your round trip was Delta only. However, Delta was cheaper than Jetblue at the time of booking. I’ve never flown with Jetblue so it would have been nice but I’m about not overpaying. Also, this particular domestic flight to Portland via Delta has a baggge fee, so i’ll be bringing along a carry-on. That means I can go crazy with my packing. I guess that’s a good thing.

I booked a room at the Portland Regency Hotel and Spa. The room rate was high for New Year’s eve but it included a bottle of champagne. That saves me from having to bring my own bottle onto the plane. We’re staying thru to Sunday at $99 a night which is a great deal considering their regular rate of $139.

I’m all set for the New Year’s Eve weekend. I feel good about this weekend getaway.

Leave a Reply

