Welcome to the Lone Star State!


In 2005, we traveled to Texas. I wanted to visit my friends (twin sisters), who transplanted to Austin from NYC. The only thing I wanted to do was eat (Tex-Mex, BBQ, chili) and be a cowgirl! TH had a more cultured itinerary; Marfa, music, art museums, and Rothko.

I must admit that we enjoyed our visit to Texas despite the state being associated with the president at the time, President W. Bush. We made this visit in October, which was perfect as it wasn’t that hot. Austin was a great base to get to other major cities like San Antonio, Dallas, and Fort Worth. We’d get up early in the morning and make our drive to one of the cities specifically to look at a major museum’s art collection, and then drive back. We spent zero time exploring the city. We also went to Marfa, Texas in the west to tour the grounds of Donal Judd’s estate featuring his large modern art installation. You can read more about it here.

And we spent a couple of days being a cowboy and cowgirl. Well, sort of. We went to a dude ranch where we rode horses. I know there are ranches that offer a full cowboy and cattle drive experience but I didn’t want to do that off the cuff. I’ve never ridden a horse before this. I don’t count the pony rides at the carnival when I was a child as equestrian experience.

I’ll be posting up specifics of the trip but wanted to layout this outline as a preview of things to come. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

