Inspired by a comedian


I pulled this image from http://www.comedy.co.uk/guide/radio/macaulay_and_co_edinburgh/

This is an update to my Travel Bucket List post. I recently found out that Fred MacAulay is currently training to climb Kilimanjaro. For those of you who are unfamiliar with Mr. Fred MacAulay, he is a comedian from Scotland. He has a radio program onBBC radio Scotland called MacAulay and Co. He hosted the radio show live from Edinburgh during the first 2 weeks of Edinburgh Festival.

I couldn’t help but be reminded of my wish to climb the big “K”. Now I wish I could be on the same expedition group as him but that’s not going to happen. I think he’s going this year. Oh, well…

But the fact that he’s also doing it just adds inspiration to my wish to do the same. In fact, I get excited when I hear someone else express interest in climbing Kilimanjaro. And why not? It’s in beautiful Africa. Hearing about Mr. MacAulay’s venture to Kilimanjaro kicked started my reading up on Tanzania. I purchased a custom and culture guidebook to Tanzania by Culture Smart! I do think it is important as part of any travel preparation that I read up on the country’s culture and customs even if I will be up on the mountain. The expeditions are accompanied by locals who help to carry your belongings and set up camp ahead of your arrival so it is best to educate yourself with their culture and customs.

Will give my assessment of “Tanzania: The Essential Guide to Customs & Culture by Culture Smart!” in a future post. Stay tuned.

As I mentioned at the beginning, Mr. MacAulay was also broadcasting his morning radio show live during the first 2 weeks of Edinburgh Festival. He was interviewing various comedians as well as giving a taste of what acts were being showcased. I’ve never considered attending Ed Festival but after listening to MacAulay and Co. – I wanted to go! The comics featured on the show were very funny and entertaining. I love to laugh!

Thank you Mr. Fred MacAulay for introducing me to Edinburgh Fringe and good luck to you with Kilimanjaro!!

**Image of Mr. MacAulay was pulled from this webpage**

Leave a Reply

