Top 10 things I did for the first time while traveling


Saddled up and ready to go

  1. Leaving home for the first time. I traveled abroad to France where I studied great architecture for the summer.
  2. Sleeping on the streets. We missed our bus returning to Rome from Siena and ended up spending the night in the Piazza.
  3. Relieving myself in natural surroundings. While in Morocco, we traveled to the Sahara on camels where we dined and camped for the evening with our bedouin guides. When I inquired about a “toilet”, the bedouin guide responded with his arms spread open to the desert.
  4. Haggling. I was aware that I would need to do this when shopping in Morocco. I think I succeeded when I brought home three rugs.
  5. Horseback riding on a working ranch in Texas. I was knocked off my horse and left dangling on a low tree branch.
  6. White-water rafting in Whistler. I feared going overboard and I don’t know how to swim. I survived and it was exhilarating!
  7. Hiking. My Austrian friends took me hiking through Tscheppaschlucht gorge to see Tschauko waterfall. The natural surroundings were beautiful and the air was so fresh.
  8. Dog-sledding in Whistler. I’ve always been fascinated with the Iditarod when my Canadian friend invited me to stay with her, and we went dog-sledding.
  9. Snow-shoeing. The same Canadian friend took me snow-shoeing in Whistler, an activity I didn’t know existed before.
  10. Held my first travel contest while traveling around England. I asked people to guess where I was and sent postcards to winners with a personalized note.

**This post has been entered into the Grantourismo HomeAway Holiday-Rentals travel blogging competition.**

5 responses to “Top 10 things I did for the first time while traveling

  1. Hi – thanks for entering our February Grantourismo-HomeAway Holiday-Rentals travel blogging competition! Loved it! Just letting you know that the winners will be announced today!

Leave a Reply

