A New York cowgirl in Texas


I recently returned from a brief trip to Austin where I attended my friend’s wedding. Though most of my days were filled with wedding related activities, I did have some time to myself to explore south Austin, specifically along South Congress. For those of you who have not been to Texas and/or Austin, Austin is not as conservative as the rest of the state. In fact, Austinians pride themselves on being liberal. Austinians also dress differently from the rest of the state. You’ll find most Austin locals in T-shirts, jeans, or shorts, and flip-flops.

Urban cowgirl in TX
And then, there’s me…a New Yorker, a city-slicker. I arrived at Austin-Bergstrom International Airport with my cowgirl hat on my head, T-shirt, jeans,and tall leather boots. I was dressed the part for Texas. All I was missing was a worn leather holster, dusty chaps, and guns a-blazin’, or an acoustic guitar…

Each day while I was in Austin, I was not without my cowgirl hat with the exception of the wedding day, of course. I couldn’t help but notice people looking at me as I passed them. And then I remember my hat, “Oh, yeah. That’s right.” Seriously, nobody else in Austin was wearing a hat in general, let along a cowboy hat. This hat saved my head from burning up and keeping the sun from eyes. It also helped to have sunglasses, too. I didn’t care how oddly I may have looked in Austin with a cowgirl hat. I was in Texas. And I got into the spirit of the cowboy; albeit a la Jeannie in a city that was the least cowboy of the Lone Star State.

If you’re wondering why aren’t there more pictures of me with the hat; there are but you’ll just have to come back and see if I post them in future posts about my recent visit to Austin, Texas. Stay tuned…

Leave a Reply

