Around Stanley Park


With some encouraging from TH, I decided to walk around Stanley Park on my last day in Vancouver. I’ve only been there once and we got there by car and it was just passing through to see the Totem Poles on our way up to Whistler.

I ended up walking around Stanley Park by way of the Seawall. Lots of people were on the Seawall, especially by bicycle. I could have rented a bike but the idea of getting into an accident or injury deterred me. Besides, it was a nice day for a walk.

It amazes me how the great outdoors is so easily accessible in Vancouver. Not only is there a forested park but there are also beaches with sand not too far from downtown Vancouver!

Totem Pole

Chief Wakas Pole

Gathering in front of totem poles

Indian totem poles

There are many points of interest walking along the Seawall of Stanley Park. The site of the totem poles is the most popular especially those traveling by charter bus. I was here with TH when we were first visited Vancouver in 2007. Some of the views from Stanley Park had me in awe like when I looked out yonder into the sea and there was nothing but a line that divided the sea and sky, and a few ships in the distance. I don’t think I have ever seen anything like that before in my travels. Then again, I don’t think any of my travels have taken me to a location where I could not see something across a body of water.

IMG_3804-2.jpg

IMG_3806.jpg

IMG_3814.jpg

Siwash Rock

I have to say that one of my favorite moments of walking around Stanley Park was encountering a rocky beach where people have created these Inuit stone figures. They seem almost mysterious. It makes me wonder if these figures have always stood there or perhaps reassembled each time the tide rises and washes in.

IMG_3855.jpg

balanced rocks

balanced rocks

Walking along the Seawall took me approximately 3 to 4 hours to complete with a long stop at the totem poles and more stops along the way to take pictures. It was a good walk, which turned out to be more exercise than I had anticipated. This walk would have been great to have tracked and logged into one of my exercise app. Oh well.

2 responses to “Around Stanley Park

Leave a Reply

