My first fountain pen


20140202-234259.jpg

TH bought me a lovely fountain pen for Christmas. I’ve always wanted one but never felt compelled to get one. For one, I didn’t quite understand how to fill the pen with ink. I was always under the impression it was a messy responsibility. And the fountain pens that used ink cartridges was limiting in color. I’ve had (and still do) pens where I’d  dip the nib into a bottle of ink. Although I enjoyed writing with them, they were a pain in the ass because I’d have to dip often.

We were in a store specializing in fountain pens. They are typically not open on the weekends but they had a special event where they were open on a Saturday. We looked over so many variety of pens. I was overwhelmed but at the same time, nothing really struck me as a pen for me. As a design professional, I wanted a pen that was elegant, thoughtful, and unique. And then I saw a limited collection of pens with wooden bodies from Faber-Castell. I don’t think I had noticed any other pens that featured wood. Many of the pens I saw were metal or had metal trim, and many others in high gloss plastics. As soon as I picked up the Ambition fountain pen in Coconut wood, I knew this was the pen for me. As you may have guessed, the barrel is made of coconut wood, which gives the pen an exotic look. The pen came with a converter and an ink cartridge. I learned that the converter is the vessel that holds the ink. The ink is drawn up through the nib by the converter. It’s pretty cool how it works.

20140202-234307.jpg

It took me a month to pick up a bottle of ink. I knew I wanted a brown or sepia ink but there are so many shades to choose from. Luckily, my options are limited to what the store carried so I purchased a bottle of chestnut-brown ink by Pilot Iroshizuku. I love chestnuts, and I especially love the color of this ink.

20140202-234316.jpg

I wrote my first letter of 2014 to a friend on a sheet of Italian stationery I acquired many years ago when I studied abroad in Italy. I had to get used to the weight of the pen. I’m not accustomed to writing with an instrument that required a bit of balancing between my fingers. The chestnut ink flowed smoothly and the nib produced beautiful lines. I couldn’t be more happy.

This is by no means a review of the pen but I’m very happy with the Ambition fountain pen in coconut wood by Faber-Castell. Actually, I love it. As I mentioned, I’ve always wanted a fountain pen. Now that I have one, I look forward to using it with increasing frequency. Thank you, TH.

Leave a Reply

