Mr. Oldman


Yes, we went to see the reboot of Robocop starring Joel Kinnamen and Gary Oldman, and it was pretty damn good. It is faithful to the original though not as gory. There is a gross biological scene, which I won’t go into detail and spoil it.

Mr. Oldman was fantastic as Dr. Norton Dennent. In fact, I am loving the actor he has become taking on roles where he plays respectable and stable characters. Don’t get me wrong, I think he has always been capable of playing such roles but he was typically casted to play characters with a darker mentality and intense personality like when he played the memorable crooked cop, Stansfield, in Léon: The Professional. And to be quite honest, I don’t think anybody else could play those roles as perfectly as Mr. Oldman.

20140217-190402.jpg

If you didn’t already realize, I love Gary Oldman!! I adore him as a person and an actor. I discovered him while I was in high school flipping through what was then a descent celeb magazine and saw a picture of Gary with long hair similar to one he had in State of Grace. The snippet announced that he was set to play the lead in Francis Ford Coppola’s Bram Stoker’s Dracula. I began to watch any and almost all movies I could get my hands on that featured Gary Oldman.

Of all the actors I liked at a very young age, I did not falter with Gary Oldman. He is my top favorite actor of all time. He’s incredibly talented. He portrays characters with excitement and great intensity. It’s hard not to be captivated by him/the characters. And although I enjoy watching Mr. Oldman act, watching interviews of him are a treat!

I’d love to see Oldman in comedies of some kind. I suppose eventually he’ll get there. He is phasing out of playing eccentric and intense characters, and called to play more authoritative, fatherly, and professional types.

Favorite movie featuring Gary Oldman:
Lèon: The Professional
The Fifth Element
Dracula
Dead Fish

Favorite scene featuring Gary Oldman has to be this:

And this famous scene from the same movie:

And of course, I have to show this short film sponsored by BMW featuring Gary Oldman and Clive Owen. Spoiler: Oldman plays a rather flamboyant devil:

Leave a Reply

